Virtuality Open Thread

Thoughts, opinions, anything you want to say about the show, this is the place.

9 Responses to “Virtuality Open Thread”


  1. 1 dzopa June 26, 2009 at 8:33 pm

    I really enjoyed the pilot. I’m very excited about the possibility of this show being picked up. I really enjoyed the HAL – like computer system as well as the virtual reality “glitch”.
    Was it me or did the charater that appeared in the crew members virtual “glitch” have that creepy vibe that michael emerson brought to his character “Ben” on LOST?
    I would highly recomend this show to anyone debating on giving it a view and my fingers are crossed for the development of new episodes.

  2. 2 jimmybing June 26, 2009 at 9:46 pm

    A few things I liked…

    -Erik Jensen deadpanning the line about growing up in a family of liars. Priceless.
    -Everything Ritchie Coster did, especially his yokel explanation of how the ship’s engines worked.
    -The music. Very different, but worked for the show in a way I wouldn’t have expected.
    -The ending. I was told that originally, Rika seeing Pike inside the VR module was something they were going to hold off on, but decided to go ahead and throw out there. It was a good decision. It really amps things up.

  3. 3 BT June 26, 2009 at 10:16 pm

    Loved it. Loved the complexity and all the questions, and I really liked all the characters. A great setup for a series. I did *not* like Pike dying (even if losing the Commander is a good story device for how it affects everyone), so having him in the VR module at the end made it better … I’d absolutely want Pike to still be part of the mix, even if only in the VR world.

  4. 4 Emily June 26, 2009 at 11:18 pm

    I was utterly stunned to see that Pike died, but the ending of Rika seeing Pike in VR really blew me away.

    It’s a very complex story.. It’s open to so many alternate possiblities…

    a. It could be one experimental VR game cooked up by Fallon.
    b. Pike really is dead and there’s a killer on board.
    c. Fallon is part of it as everyone else and the computer virus is trying to eliminate them all.

    Really very intriguing. I’d like to see more..

  5. 5 Jordan June 27, 2009 at 1:01 am

    I really enjoyed the pilot.

    I could see the whole thing going into a “the whole thing is a VR sim” and Pike was the only one so far to figure it out. There was that whole vision thing with the light outside the hatch.

  6. 6 Jon June 27, 2009 at 1:08 am

    I thought the concept and execution of the show was amazing. It seems like you have a real winner here. An amazing cast, and award winning production team, and a killer premise. Although I’m extremely disappointed to hear that the show is already canceled before it has even had a chance. Your guys at FOX better rethink that move, especially given your history of prematurely canceling shows that really would have done well i.e. Firefly, Family Guy, Futureama. You keep making the same mistake over and over when it comes to what you think the people want and what actually becomes hits(when released to DVD). So I urge you to not make the same mistake that has cost you money and us, the viewers, some of the greatest television created.

  7. 7 BC June 27, 2009 at 7:07 pm

    Great show. I would definitely watch it on a regular basis. Unlike BT above though I really LIKED Pike dying and Ryka could join him in the afterlife and that would be ok to though it isn’t going to happen as putting Pike in the VR would be pointless then. While I highly doubt it’s the husband, because other people were affected so that affair was likely a red herring, it certainly would be poetic justice if it was. I’ll watch the show if it gets picked up but I’ll be hoping it’s the husband who killed Pike, and gets revenge on his wife as well, but the overall villian turns out to be someone else.

    You’ve made the two main characters REALLY, REALLY unlikeable people in my book but that doesn’t mean it’s not fun to watch.

  8. 8 Mikey June 28, 2009 at 2:47 pm

    Ok,liked the pilot…except…

    What the hell is a guy in a wheel chair doing on a 10-year interstellar mission!!!??? No way, no how, not even in the most politically correct world imaginable. He is a detriment to the mission – unless he was injured after departure and is in the chair while he recuperates…?

    The whole premise seems good, and the writing wasn’t bad, but please, please, please lose the “reality show” format. I’m sooooooo sick and tired of reality shows and this would also be a detriment to the mission and I find it annoying and distracting from the story line.

  9. 9 zmjjmz June 28, 2009 at 4:19 pm

    @Mikey: They had to have the reality show thing to fund the mission.
    So long as the show itself doesn’t become a reality TV show, I’m fine.

    Some unlikely points:
    If they needed to fund the mission with Reality TV (showing that it probably isn’t a government funded mission), how did they manage to get a hold of all of those considerably powerful bombs?
    And I remember in the drafted specs of the ship that there was an ablation shield. How did that workout? I don’t remember seeing it in the show, but maybe it’s not easily visible from the ship itself. Surely they’re not traveling at .06c without an ablation shield.

    All in all, it’s a pretty good show. I like that it takes the Ubik-like turn at the end.


Leave a Reply

Check it out.

Follow us on Twitter! What? Faster, more regular updates? No! But we're on Twitter! -- http://twitter.com/jimmybing

jimmybing’s twitter feed

Contact Us

Want to contribute? Have any questions? Shoot us an e-mail at fuggidup@yahoo.com.
counter stats

Gallery

neptune2

neptune

module

jules1

hellonurse

greenscreenfilming

phaetonforward

phaetonrear

stairwell

virtualdoctor

More Photos

